Midwest Alliance for Patient Safety

MAPS PSO Patient Safety Champion

Utilize our Program to Support Your Staff and Patient Safety Efforts!



We are looking for champions of patient safety who: 

Show a passion and commitment to patient safety
Identify opportunities to improve patient safety
Encourage colleagues to practice safe patient care
Exemplify and promote the organizations safety culture
Go above & beyond in their role to ensure patients are safe 

Announcing 2023 MAPS PSO Patient Safety Champions

OSF HealthCare Sacred Heart Medical Center


Tessa Pacion, RN


Fairfield Memorial Hospital

                                                                 Front row left:               Jennifer Young
                                                                 Front row middle:         Hattie Schoepf
                                                                 Front row right:             Rachel Jennings
                                                                 Back row left:                Luke McDaniel
                                                                 Back row right:             Merri Corbett-Mercer
                                                                 Not pictured: Bobby Bridgeman, Dawn Murbarger

NEW for 2023!

MAPS PSO 2023 Patient Safety Ambassador 
Kristie McDaniel - Ferrell Hospital
Retha Elston - KSB Hospital

Patient Safety Champion Honorable Mention 2021

OSF Home Care was acknowledged as an honorable mention for a "great catch" in identifying the need for a medication clarification to safely discharge a patient. Kelley Messmer's discovery prevented a patient from developing irreversable kidney damage.

Patient Safety Champion Honorable Mention of 2020

Pinckneyville Community Hospital (PCH) was recognized as an honorable mention for embracing and supporting the new PCH Good Catch Program.  Diedra Restoff, RN embraced training staff to actively report and share good catch learnings. 

Pictured left to right: Randall Dauby, CEO; Eva Hopp, CNE; Diedra Restoff, Nurse Manager, Cancer Care and Infusion Clinic; Rachel Grunloh, Quality Coordinator; Blake Thornton, Director of Quality and Risk Management and MAPS PSO Coordinator

MAPS Coordinator Tips: Consider nominating your patient safety heroes, employees of the month, good catch recipients or quality/risk warriors. 

Please select your nomination category:

Maximum of 500 characters.
Enter security code:
 Security code

Past Recipients Include!

2022 Patient Safety Champion 
OSF Health Care 
McDonough District Hospital

2021 Patient Safety Champion 
FHN Memorial Hospital 
Northwestern Medicine  - Lake Forest Hospital

2020 Patient Safety Champion
Dupage Medical Group

2019 Patient Safety Champion
Rush Copley Medical Center

2018 Patient Safety Champion 
Morris Hospitals & Healthcare Centers


2017 Patient Safety Champion
OSF Saint Anthony’s Health Center

Each annual Patient Safety Champion recipient is recognized at the MAPS Annual Culture of Safety Workshop in October. Awardees are acknowledged in a press release from IHA and featured on the IHA and MAPS website. They will also receive an individual  patient safety champion trophy, a patient safety champion pin and personalized patient safety champion certificate. The organization is given a customized trophy and a certificate to display their pride in outstanding patient safety efforts.